Changed Lives

Chang may indeed be a constant in life. It is amazing how we focus so much attention on the short bursts of change that happen during adolescence but fail to think about the myriad of changes that happen to us throughout life.

Change is central and fundamental to the Christian faith. “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.” 2 Corinthians 5:17

I have been surprised to find how much my life has changed since Kathy died. There are things I used to enjoy doing that I no longer enjoy doing. There are people who I used to think of as friends who no longer treat me like a friend. There are things I used to take for granted or count as important that I no longer hold in high regard. I have changed.

For those who think they know me this no doubt is unsettling. I have learned to be kind, but not to live my life to please others. I have learned that just because someone says this is what I must do does not mean it is so. I am learning what is concrete and unmovable, and how many things in my life that are negotiable.

Because of these and other changes I see happening in my life I no longer dream of meeting someone just like I used to know. I long for someone unlike my past completely.

So when you think that once we grow up we stop changing you set yourself up for disappointment or condemn yourself to a long but boring life.

Leave a Reply

