Changing Relationships

One of the things I have had to deal with and work through in my grieving journey is changing relationships. There are people whom I have known for years who, since Kathy died, have very little to do with me. These are people who knew Kathy well, and through Kathy I thought I knew too. But something changed in me, or in the, or in both, that has been first a disappointment and now is a part of this new life.

There are other people though who were not in my close circle of friends before Kathy died who now have become close friends. Mostly these relationships have been a pleasant surprise. Some of these new people have also experienced the death of a close loved one and so we have that in common. But not all fellow grievers have become friends.

I have had some people tell me that now I seem to be doing better but before I had some serious issues. Duh, tell me something I didn’t know. There is a reason grieving people wonder if they are going crazy.

So as I adjust to the new life that I have been forced into it is an adventure. And it is an adventure I am taking by myself. New relationships have not included any female romantic ones. And that is fine with me. It was hard at first to feel rejected by old friends. But the new friends I have more than offset the old ones I no longer have. And I am grateful for all of the people who have come into my life in the past three years.

Leave a Reply

