Less Dying More Living

I recently heard Larry Gatlin sing a song that touched my heart. I’ve Done Enough Dyin’ Today. Here are the lyrics.

What will we do now? You tell me
The hourglass is all out of sand
How could love slip through our fingers
And leave nothin’ but time on our hands?
And how will we live now? You tell me
With parts of our hearts torn away
Just existing makes dyin’ look easy
But maybe tomorrow I’ve done enough dyin’ today

And how will I sleep now? You tell me
With only my arm my by side
Perhaps I’ll learn sleepin’ all over
And just maybe without dreamin’ this time
And who’ll make you laugh now? You tell me
Since you sent your clown on his way
I don’t think I’ll cry, just die laughin’
But maybe tomorrow I’ve done enough dyin’ today

And how will we live now? You tell me
With parts of our hearts torn away
Just existing makes dyin’ look awful easy
But maybe tomorrow I’ve done enough dyin’ today

Read more: Larry Gatlin & The Gatlin Brothers – I’ve Done Enough Dyin’ Today Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Any grieving person will understand why the idea of living or existing can make dying look easy. And they will also understand the idea that I have done enough dying today. I don’t know what inspired Larry to write this song. But I know what is says to me. In grief you may yearn for even an hour of relief. You may pray for help when there seems to be no one listening. But somehow you make it through the day or the hour.

Let me leave you to your own application of this song. But know this, that God hears and He cares. And Jesus is praying for us in Heaven. So just make it one more day or one more minute and in time it will feel less like dying and more like living.

Leave a Reply

