Not Lonely Anymore

Several things have surprised me along my grief journey. Like when I laugh it feels normal now, not odd or surprising. When I see or hear something pleasant it just pleases me, not depresses me. When I hear a song I like I sing along out loud. When I come home to my house it doesn’t hit me as an empty house anymore. I am slowly but surely getting used to being a single man with all of its ups and downs, but normal stuff not sad or depressing issues. I am grateful to feel this way.

I am alone in life. I have friends and family sure. But I live alone. And gradually it is dawning on me that this is not all bad. I do not feel lonely. I am happy and at peace.

One or two or three years ago I never thought I would be here, but I am and I like it.

Leave a Reply

