A Successful Life

What does it take to live a successful life? First I suppose we must define the word success. What do you think it means? Fame, money, power, prestige, family, etc? There may be elements of these in a real understanding of success.

Years ago when I was young and struggling to find my way in life I mentioned to someone how inadequate and unsuccessful I felt. He said in an offhand way that we all have our bit to do. Another time my grandfather Orville told me, you didn’t set out to make a living, you set out to make a family. So you see success may not be what we wish it were.

Success in a very practical sense is finding out what you are called to do, or what you find yourself compelled to do, and then doing it. And doing it in such a way that you don’t sacrifice important things. What does it profit a man, if he gain the whole world, but lose his soul? That’s how Jesus put it. Making a lot of money and getting promoted but losing your spouse and children is no success to me. Real success in life is living what the Bible calls an abundant life.

This is a liberating idea. You and I can be successful if we are just successful at what we do and successful in family relationships. You can be a success and be poor. You can be a success and never be on TV. You are a success if you have life, and family, and enough.

Don’t let the advertisers disturb your peace of mind. More and more will never satisfy. The satisfied person is one who says, I have enough. That is a success to me.

Leave a Reply

