Not Tired Of Being Alone

I heard a song on the radio today that used to bother me but doesn’t anymore. You may have heard it.

I’m so tired of being alone, I’m so tired of on my own, won’t you help me girl.

I went through a time where I was so lonesome I could cry. And cry I did. But slowly I am coming to grips with the reality of singleness that will define me for years to come. But in coming to this place in my life I am struck by how much love and romance and falling in love is in our popular media, especially music and film. Listen to the radio or stream music and it is clear that falling in love is paramount in the minds of many song writers.

I am a normal man. I like women. I enjoy their company. But I don’t want to or need to bring one home with me. I enjoy visiting ladies but I don’t want to spend the night. I have dated a few times but nothing came of it except I saw no potential of anything developing. So I am a happily single man.

There are times when I turn my radio off when the emotions get a little too frayed. No sense stirring up something I can do nothing about. But most of the time I appreciate a good love song as much as anyone.

Does music ever bother you? Do you ever turn off the music because it hit too close to home? I doubt I am the only one who does this.

Leave a Reply

