Abundant Living Now?

One of the challenges of living is to keep life fresh and interesting and new. So much of life is just every day sameness. Doing what we know to do, day after day. The seasons change, the years roll by, but in time what is there to do in life that we haven’t already done?

All is vanity said wise old king Solomon. The wisest man on Earth was bored with life. I’m not Solomon, but I get bored with my life too. I can’t do everything I would like to do, and what I can afford to do is just get by. Earning more money would not leave me with time to do anything but eat and sleep. So I just muddle through.

Jesus promised us an abundant life, but I don’t seem to be enjoying that right now. I am pursuing a new job, but it is work I’ve done before. I am good at what I do, but that makes a hard day easy to me. All of my needs are met, but there are still things I would like to do, places I would like to go, and of course people I would love to meet.

I am grateful for what I have and grateful to be able to do what I do. I am hoping that there is something more to this life and that I don’t have to wait until Heaven to be happy and fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

