The God Factor

I have written before that church people can be some of the most well-meaning but hurtful people when it comes to grieving. Like Job’s friends, they think they have the answer, and they are so wrong that God has to step in to fix their mess.

If everything happens according to God’s plan, then it was God’s will that Kathy died. Do you see the problem with that statement? God is so wise and so kind that he took my dear wife from me robbing me of her company through the best times of our lives together. Or is it that I am such a dope that I cannot see the wisdom in the Divine plan? Or is God so just that He does what He does regardless of how it will affect us?

I am not a theologian, but I am a Christian, and I have settled Kathy’s death in my own heart. But when I hear church people talk so glibly about God did this and God said that and God is active in every microscopic detail of every person’s life on Earth I cringe. That means God is involved in everyone elses life but mine.

I have no answer to this dilemma. But if you love Jesus and if you love me please do not insult me or hurt me with talk of a God who is there to help (except when I really need Him).

Leave a Reply

