Funeral Thoughts

A lady in our church died recently. She died on my birthday, but that is neither here nor there. What was significant to me is this is the first funeral service I attended since my wife’s in 2014. I have been afraid to attend a funeral service since then, even when it was for people I knew and loved. It has been one of the lingering issues in my life that are grief related.

Funerals are not joyous times in the best of circumstances. Even if the person is now in Heaven, we feel the loss. I was struck today by the brevity of life. Here was this dear lady’s life played out in memories and eulogies and it seemed that life is so short. Most of us do not do heroic or memorable things in our lifetimes. But still I was moved by how little we remember about people once they are gone.

This lady had been very sick and so she was out of sight, out of mind for many of us for the past few years. I remembered her by the pictures and by the people who spoke on her behalf. She never married. She was a good Christian woman. And she died at home, just like Kathy did.

I am not going to go on and on about this. I am a little sad right now since it has not been that long ago that I said goodby to my wife of 40 years. She had no husband or children to mourn for her. But there are people who loved her and they will grieve.

Good bye Sidney. Tell Kathy I said hello.

Leave a Reply

